It is currently 2024-05-17 / 08:23 UTC GMT +00:00

MOD: BTC Spectre MOSFET

• Author

DrunkenTeddy

Member in Good Standing

MOD: BTC Spectre MOSFET

Post2014-04-16 / 22:44 UTC GMT +00:00

So I got my hands on a BTC Spectre MOSFET (http://www.btcairsoft.com/spectre_v2gb) and I decided to install it in my VFC PDW. I'm a bit of an amateur around opening gearboxes, but I have worked on a couple of my own before so I know what's what. This install was actually pretty easy. I opted to remove the anti-reversal latch while I had the gearbox apart as I was planning on using the active braking feature of the mosfet and this way I had one less part to wear down in my gearbox. The one tricky part of the installation is getting the selector plate to push down hard enough on the back of the mosfet, most stock selector plates are the same thickness and this mosfet seems to be built for the few that come with the selector plates with the metal around the one section making them thicker (example: http://www.airsoftatlanta.com/SHS-Versi ... /32540.htm). For my gun the selector plate is non-standard so I had to JBweld some shims that I had cut in half onto the plate to make it thick enough to push the buttons on the back of the mosfet. I'm sure there are other ways you can do this, but this is what worked for mine. Aside from that there wasn't really any fiddling with anything else to make it work. Programming was also relatively simple, I liked it better than the programming setup I've used on other MOSFETS.